We have been camping. Hubby’s brother and wife joined us for a few days on the Mississippi River in south east Missouri.
We camped near a ferry landing, and were entertained by a number of the folks waiting to make the crossing to Kentucky.
Yesterday afternoon, the ferry had to shut down due to weather. High winds made white cap waves.
This brought about a rather interesting and somewhat sad turn of events.
bikers
This young couple are making a bicycle trip across the United States. They started in California, and are traveling the backroads and smaller highways to reach North Carolina.
They were quite disappointed that the ferry was closed, and asked if we would sell them some bottled water for the 30 mile unplanned leg of the trip to get them to the nearest Mississippi bridge crossing.
Of course we gave them water, at no charge and got out a map to help them find the shortest route.
While we chatt4ed, I mentioned I have a daughter living in California, and another just moved from NC. I asked if they had been on a certain road the day before, and they admitted to having stayed in Ellington MO (our neatest town) and being on that road. Hubby and I had noticed them riding along that road.
I wish I had sent my address and had them send a card when they reach their destination, but I forgot.