The following recipe has been awarded 4 pink forks by Hubby, the daughters, part of the grandkids  and 3 sons in law.

I therefore assume it appeals to them. I do not eat jerky, so I can offer no opinion. I can give the recipe and my instructions. You are on your own from there!

First of all, use glass or plastic container to measure and make your marinade, use a wooden or plastic spoon to stir, and plastic or glass to marinate it in.

I have tried using metal (that’s why I post this warning) and let us merely state that the dogs enjoyed it. The family did not.

You will need, for this much marinade about 2 pounds of meat. You can use beef, venison, or other meat that suits you. Elk is very tasty but in most places hard to find. The meat should be very cold, even slightly frozen and sliced thin, Thin as in about an eighth to a quarter inch slices. The thicker it is, the longer it takes to marinate and to dehydrate.

Use good meat and make sure there is no fat. The fat will not dehydrate and can turn rancid, ruining all your efforts.

I have a hand crank slicer and we set it to just a shade over an eighth inch.

Put the slices in your marinating container, about three slices deep is fine. Remember the marinating liquid needs to get to all surfaces of the meat!

In a bowl, mix 1 1/2 tsp ground pepper. (I use black , use red pepper flakes if you want  spicy jerky)

1 Tbsp salt, ( I use 1/2 regular salt and 1/2  Cajun seasoning)

pinch of garlic powder (optional)

pinch of onion powder (optional)

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup worcehtershire sauce

1 cup water

Pour over meat and refrigerate for at least 8, but not more than 24 hours. Stir once in a while to make sure the marinade gets to all of the meat!

Drain the meat, about 10 minutes. Place on dehydrator trays and follow directions for heat and time. Mine takes about 6 hours on the meat setting or 8 hours in the oven at 150 degrees.

I pack it in snack size Ziplocks and tossthem in a biger one. This keeps the whole batch from getting air and moisture contamination when some one gets some jerky out.

I have used other recipes, there are a lot of them available at all recipes and cooks.com links on this page. This is the one our family likes.

