I can well understand why inhabitants of Greenland, Northern Canada and Alaska are happy to see the long darkness of winter end!

Three days of being ‘housed up’ as my mother in law would have said.  That is enough! Gloom was reverberating off the walls, darkness following down the hallways! Getting hard to see the beauty and blessings that surround me when faced with that.  

Walking outside is an adventure on the ice, my skating skills have never been good.  Hubby has taken over most of the ‘outdoor duties’, caring for the dogs, chickens and even filling the bird feeders.

This morning we are greeted with sunshine, a welcome change from the gray skies of the past few days.  As the bright light edges over the horizon, my world is alight with rainbows. prisms of ice breaking into joyful color! Birds are flocking to the feeders, more sparks of bright color to appease my eyes. What a difference! Hope and wonder replace my gloomy attitude.

Oh, it’s pretty chilly here, I thought I might have to warm up the thermometer to be able to read it, but our 6 degrees is a heat wave to some. I have much to be thankful for, the power is on, the water is running, there is heat and food.  Many people cannot claim these blessings today, or any day.

This is the day the Lord has made (and given to me) I will rejoice and be glad in it! I can choose to see the cold and ice as a threat and unpleasant inconvenience or to enjoy the beauty and wonder around me. Indeed, it is time to focus on my ‘presents’, the gifts I take for granted!

