Youngest daughter wanted a recipe a while ago. She is having a baby this year, and was ‘craving’ something particular. Not just a particular food, but made in a particular way. Rice pudding, she had looked it up, but didn’t find the ‘right’ one. She was looking forthe one Mom makes.

I am sure that there is a recipe out there in cyber land somewhere, that is not wehere I got mine. Mine came from my Great grandmother, passed down to Grandma and Mother and now in my hands, or perhaps I should say in my head. It’s one of those things that you hardly think about when you make it, it just sort of comes naturally.

I’ve stood in the kichen with all the above mentioned ladies and gone from ‘chief stirrer’ to being allowed to measure ingredients, to making it myself.

Here is how it goes:

My Great Grandmother’s Rice pudding

Heat oven to 350 grease an 8X8 pan

In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup milk, 1 egg, 1/2 cup sugar and a little vanilla and cinnamon.

Add 2 cups of cooked rice and stir well, you can add some raisins or other dried fruit too, a quarter cup or so. Gram put raisins in hers, I like dried cranberries. (I don’t think she had them)

Turn into pan and bake.  It will be done in 45 minutes to an hour.  The shorter cooking makes a ‘creamier’ pudding, longer makes it a bit ‘dryer’.

Thank you, ladies who took the time to teach me, and to you Dear Daughter, for reminding me of a simple good thing! Now I want some, too!

