Phillipians 4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always, again I say, rejoice.

I posted Saturday that I was buried in my ‘to do list’ and a busy weekend it was!

Life, as usual, got in the way of completing all I had hoped to get done. It also brought some wonderful little surprises my way.

Our daughter arrived from the east coast late Saturday afternoon. Instead of finishing the dragon skin scarf, I spent Saturday evening teaching  the basics of Knitting 101.  We had a nice visit while working through the basics of casting on stitches and learning to do the basic knit stitch.

Sunday morning started off with a visit to my parents and sister.   We found them well, enjoying a late breakfast.

Returning home, over here on the ridge, daughter decided she had ‘people to see, and places to go’. I stayed here.

Hubby had yet another brush burning project in mind, so soon I was out helping with that. It was very thankfully finished before the wind picked up. We were spared the fright that friends outside of nearby Salem had as a fire spread through the woods surrounding their home.

This task was completed early enough that I had time to do some ‘bird watching’ for the Great Backyard Bird Count and enjoy the Daytona 500 race all the way to the finish.

While the race was going on, I tried a new recipe. Fig bars, which were much like Fig Newton cookies!

Ingredients

1 cup water

3 cups dried figs

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1 tablespoon milk

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

  1. Soak figs in the water for 1 hour. In a small saucepan, combine the fig mixture with the sugar, and cook over medium heat until thick and stewy. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Beat in the milk and vanilla until smooth. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt, stir into the creamed mixture. Cover and refrigerate for one hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  4. Divide the dough into two pieces and knead each piece about 5 or 6 times. On a well floured surface, roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thickness. Line the prepared pan with one piece of the dough. Spread the fig mixture over it, then cover with the other piece of dough.
  5. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown. Cool and cut into squares.

After the race, Hubby and I walked out to check the camera in the woods, pictures revealed, squirrels, raccoons, crows and deer had been to visit us. Accompanied by 5 dogs, we were assured we would not see much for ourselves.

Daughter returned from her day of visiting friends bearing hamburgers and other goodies – no need to cook!

After we ate, Daughter and I left again, this time to visit for a while at a quilter friend’s home.  I got to see a long time friend who had moved away, two of her sons and daughters in law as well as my friend Wanda and some of her family. We shared catching up, quilting stories and advice, and plenty of laughter.

Not much on that ‘to do list’ found completion, but you know,  I really do not mind! It will probably all get done, sooner of later. I rejoice in the blessings of the day!

