I decided early today that the menu was in error! I had chicken thawing and no good ideas of  ‘what to fix’, my mind kept telling me CHICKEN POT PIE. Now over my lifetime, I have made a lot of food, but never a chicken pot pie.

So first I went through several cookbooks, all of them either had single crusts or used a biscuit dough. What I was after was something on the order of the kind you can buy frozen and cook up. I put out a plea on Facebook and got several inspirations from friends. I gleaned a lot of good ideas and want to say a big THANK YOU to each of them!

Here is what I made: Simmer chicken (2 legs, 2 thighs) in water with chopped onion and garlic until tender. Take the meat off the bones and chop into bite size pieces. Strain the broth. Reserve broth and mix the onion etc back into the chicken meat. Add 1 can ‘cream of’  soup, ( I used cream of Mushroom, because I had some on hand) a package of mixed veggies thawed and drained, seasonings to suit, and enough chicken broth to thin the soup a little. (1/2 cup or a bit more)

The crust was crescent roll dough, basically a recipe of  ‘It’s all in what you Knead” with 2 eggs added and about a cup and a half extra flour. I let it rise twice instead of once. Roll out dough, nice and thin, place in 10 inch pie pan and bake for 5 minutes at 350.

Now add your filling and top crust, back in the overn for 20 minutes or until nicely browned.

The pie made 8 nice size pieces, Hubby ate 4, I ate 2. Hubby said “Very good”, which for him is a high compliment to the cook.

So there you have it, the result was in my opinion excellent, just what I had in mind, and Hubby liked it. Win, win today

 

