Ecclesiastes 3:2 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up [that which is] planted;

As dawn was coming this morning, I heard a noise. a squalling scream, that raised the hair on my neck and set the dogs to barking.

I don’t know for sure what it was, a ‘panther’ perhaps, or a bobcat.

It got me thinking, it’s the time of ‘babies’, fawns, turkey poults, quail chicks, little rabbits and fledgling birds… all small wild things I appreciate and enjoy.

It’s also the time of coyote pups, fox cubs and bobcat or mountain lion kittens, things I also appreciate, but am less fond of. Why is that? They too have a place in the ‘grand scheme’. If not for those predators, we would be over run by the animals we think of as ‘beautiful, cute, cuddly’.

It gave me pause, I ‘know’ that the basics of life mean that in all the reproductive cycles the average is that each pair reproduces one pair to maturity.  What happens to the rest?  Attrition keeps the populations in check. Predator and prey… Just because I prefer to see the deer, turkey and such,  (OK, yes, because I hunt and we eat them) over the predators.

And that is not true either, I like to see the fox, bobcat and others in the wild. I guess, specifically I do not like to think of them ‘doing their job’! No, I do not want them raiding my chickens, another thing on which I depend! So in my mind I will make an effort to not see them as ‘pests’, ‘criminals’, or enemies.

They will as they always have, take a few of the others, as those others prey on bugs, seeds and plants. It is the cycle of life, as God created it. Some are chosen, some fall…

