for every pancake that was cooked or eaten in my life, I would have a lot more money!

As a child, my dad would whip up pancakes for weekend breakfasts. His talents led to great things, pancakes shaped like animals, cars, and abstract art. 

Mother was in favor of the ‘silver dollar’ size for weekday mornings. Probably because her square griddle would hold 8 of them, and feeding the 5 of us kids, it was a challenge to get us out the door in time for the school bus.

Granny Shipman had a round cast iron griddle, one big plate size cake at a time…

The griddle was handed along to me, and has lived well in my kitchen over the years.

This time around in its long and treasured existence, blueberry pancakes hit the hot cast iron.

To make them for the two of us it goes like this:

1 cup of all-purpose flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbsp sugar and a pinch of salt go into a bowl. Stir it a bit to mix it all up. While I have no doubt that self-rising flour would work fine, I just don’t use it here in the Sunrise Ridge kitchen.

In a measuring cup, 1 cup of milk, 2 tsp. cooking oil and 1 egg,  I stir this up a little and then add it to the flour mixture.

Stir til combined, not smooth but no big lumps!

If adding fruit, like blueberries, I drop in about 1/4 cup of fresh, frozen or well-drained canned at this point. Running the spoon through to distribute the fruit evenly.

I use a 1/2 cup ladle to pour out the batter on the preheated griddle, this makes about a 6 inch finished pancake.

When the edges look ‘dry’ and there are popped bubbles all over the cake flip it over to brown.

My recipe as written here makes 4 or 5 pancakes, it’s easy to double or triple if you need to.

 

 

