I missed Will Rogers, he died before I was born. 

I do, however, remember hearing about him, listening to his quotes and seeing afew movies he was in on our Saturday morning trips to the old Joyo theater in Lincoln Nebraska. Dad would take a carload of us to the movies on Saturday… Twenty five cents paid for the Saturday show and a bag of popcorn or soda, whech was shared.

A couple nights ago, “The Story of Will Rogers” was featured on one of the movie channels. I got hooked in, watching this man of Native American heritage take the nation with first his roping talent and then his wit and wisdom.

Remarks he made about politics are as true in 2011 as when he made them in the depression era.

I wonder if there is someone out there today, who could get the attention of the populace and congress as he did?

