Of course I’ve heard of buckeyes. I know they are a large nut that a lot of folks used to carry around in their pockets. There are tales of them bringing good fortune and warding off Arthritis. Since I have arthritis, I would say it they work it would be good fortune.

The ones I am talking about now are a kind of candy. One of the daughters just messaged me that she needed the recipe and it was not here, so I have to fix that problem immediately.

This is one of the recipes we used to make a lot ‘this time of year’ in the kitchens wherever we have lived, it does not require a lot of cooking and is a good one to share with those ‘little helpers’ that add so much to the fun of doing it.

They are a good substitute for those days when it is too humid for fudge or divinity as well. 😉

This is how I make them and they taste like Reese Cups (only better)

    Buckeyes

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup fine graham cracker crumbs

t4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 tablespoons shortening
    Mix everything but the chips and shortening til well blended, roll into 1 inch or slightly smaller balls and put in the freezer for an hour or refrigerate overnite. They need to be really cold so the chocolate starts to set up fast and not drip off.

    Melt chips and shortening in a double boiler or very carefully in microwave, stirring often until smooth, dip balls into melted chocolate and place on waxed paper to cool and harden. I use a heavy glass bowl that sets inside one of my saucepans and keep the water simmering, just below the bottom of the bowl. (It works fine.)

