Because, it needs to be shared… This is an old recipe, when I lived in Lincoln Nebraska,prior to 1959, my best friend’s mother used to fix it for a treat for us. I have cut the recipe down to these amounts, because Hubby and I tend to eat it ALL, no matter how much I make.

I wanted some today, it brought back a lot of good memories. Of those long ago days and some more recent, of good times, good people, and delicious caramel popcorn.

It’s easy to double or more using basic math, I say with a smile but this makes a good size pan full.

3 quarts of popped popcorn (pick out the hulls) and put in a big pan, 9X13 or a big roaster is you have one. I use two bags of microwave popcorn these days.

In a sauce pan mix together

2 Tbsp White Karo syrup

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 stick margarine or butter

Cook stirring until it comes to a boil and boil 5 minutes, Add a pinch (about 1/4 tsp, for you purists) of baking soda and stir iuntil the foaming goes down.

Pour over the popped corn and place in a 250 degree oven for about an hour, stir it every 15 minutes or so. You can add nuts to it, or if you like soft caramel rather thatn ‘cracker jack-y’ don’t put it in the oven, just enjoy it as oon as it gets cool enough to eat.

