Oh, dear! Toy… and what comes to mind?

Currently and for the past several years, truth be told, my ‘toys’ are really craft items. I have sewing machines, an embroidery machine, multiple scissors, rulers, multitudes of looms, knitting needles, crochet hooks and a room full of all the items that can be used with those toys. I have them because I enjoy making quilts, bags, afghans and all sorts of things with them.

However, on the display shelf in the above mentioned room, there are some ‘real’ toys. Toys from long ago, that require no batteries, power cords or anything but human hands to play with.

Whee-Lo, wooden top, marbles

I find it interesting, when the grandkids come to visit, bringing with them all the ‘new’ technology and things to play with. They usually ask to play with these of some item from the basket of toys I have kept on hand through two generations of children.

