Metamorphosis

How much pain rests in the empty place that was my heart?

I sit here, watching the water race through the rocks, seeking peace.

Silvery, translucent in the rising light, sparkling sequins rest, then float away on gossamer wings

Like the dreams I held dear.

I will not stand at the grave weeping useless tears.

Like the damselfly, I will come from this torment, become a new being.

No longer drab nymph; fully formed in beauty.

Darkness beckoned, but I put down the gun.

I choose to live, to embrace hope, to fly!

Once again, Friday is fast approaching. Madison Woods has issued the weekly challenge and photo prompt for the Friday Fictioneers. For more information and to read other entries just click on this link: http://madison-woods.com/flash-fiction/damsel-fly/

