Write a letter to a landscape or scene you pass through today (or often). This is the challenge for July 16.

Karen Nelson has the information on her blog, along with links to other participants posts http://kbnelson.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/reason-2-rhyme-letter-to-the-landscape-poetry-challengeprompt/

One of my favorite places along ‘my river’ holds this intriguing natural sculpture, when we go there I take pictures, like a real face, different light gives it personality, and so does my mind as I speak to it on each visit. Cleck on the photo to get a better view of the face.

Hidden face

Hello, tall bluff, deep staring eyes

Rough stone face, hidden in the hollow

I look for as my canoe slides

Silently past in cold clear water.

Hot summer sun on my shoulders.

You guard the deep hole

Where rainbow and brown

Hide under your edge.

I greet you once again.

 

 

 

