I found A Simple Spring by Rosalind Lauer to be a bit disappointing.

Why? The plot was interesting and well constructed. Depicting the internal  struggle of a young woman trying to choose her future in  the Amish world she had grown up in or use her God-given musical talents in the English world.

The Pennsylvania setting was adequate and well done.

It was the two main characters. I could not ‘see; them as real people! Both Sadie King and her counterpart Mike Trueherz,  in this story seemed a bit vague to me. There were moments when they came alive, but more often it seemed they were plodding along with little purpose.

I give this book 3 stars, more for plot idea and setting than for the characters within.

I am sure that many will disagree with my assessment, and that’s fine. Reading is subjective.

 

