At one o’clock, this morning, Miss Lily woke me up.

We went outside and watched a few meteorites streak across the dark December sky.

Beautiful sparks of brightness flitting short-lived across the black velvet.

My great grandmother said, every shooting star was someone being called home to heaven.

As the day unfolded, filled with tragedy, I remembered that statement.

I choose tonight not to light my Christmas lights, but to light a candle and say prayers with many others around the world for those who have lost their lives in senseless violence.

Please join me in asking for comfort for the families, police, medical personell and all the other children.

I hugged the great-grandkids that were available and sent cyber hugs to my children and the grands and great grands who are at a distance, didn’t you?

