Finally, finally, there has been enough beautiful white snow to make snow ice cream!

It is one of my fondest memories growing up in Nebraska and watching blizzards blow through. A ‘snow day from school and Gram’s Snow Ice Cream!

First you must have some fresh, clean snow. Gram always wanted a 4 inch snow fall but I am willing to settle for 3 inches 🙂 We rarely get even that much here

Fill a large bowl or dish pan with snow. I have a big bowl, about 12 quarts, that I use for making bread

In a separate bowl mix canned milk,  1 to cup, 1 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tbsp. vanilla together.

Start scooping in the snow and mixing, until the consistency of soft serve ice cream. You can add more milk if needed or have harder ice cream. I recommend tasting to see if more sugar or vanilla is needed.

I usually get about a half-gallon using these measurements.

You have to work pretty fast. Eat and enjoy, left over ice cream will last in the freezer,

