Today I sent a selection of knitting needles, collected over the years to a young lady who grew up with my youngest daughter.

I learned to knit, along with a class of other girls when I was 9 or 10, while growing up in Nebraska. My interest lasted about as long as it took to make a hat and scarf, sadly, I did not keep it up, and somewhere along the way that set of needles went the way of many other childhood toys… I am sure my parents gave them to someone who would use them.

About 20 years later, I took it up again, my skills improved and so did my desire to make things. Scarves, hats, and a few baby afghans began to appear. With those increased abilities came the need for more needles, different lengths and sizes and a collection was born.

Over the years, I have purchased some, some came as gifts, one group of needles came while we lived in New Hampshire. Walking down the street , we came upon a home being emptied after a death in the family. There in the bin for trash was a large collection of knitting supplies. The family was happy to ‘donate’ them to another knitter, rather than the local land-fill and I was pleased with the acquisition, too.

Sweaters and slippers were soon added to my repertoire as my stack of patterns grew and I met another knitter there who taught me much and encouraged me.

We moved back to Missouri and so, the needles migrated with us. As the annual Christmases, birthday parties and baby gifts came around with knit gifts, I acquired some more ‘legacy’ needles from one of my sister-in-laws when her mother passed away.

I took an inventory and had them from size 0 to 13, long, short, some double point and some circular. Quite a collection, and truly well-loved.

Then I went to visit my daughter in California and discovered bamboo needles.  Over time all the metal and plastic ones were replaced with bamboo.

What to do with all these needless needles?  When I discovered that this long time friend was knitting, I offered her the needles and she accepted. She has promised to teach someone, hopefully a future daughter in law and pass along to at least a fourth generation some needles with a story.

I hope that happens!

