Or so my Irish ancestors would have described it.
Fog, so thick it can be sliced, slipped in early on a warm current of southern air, showers have dusted the bare trees with jewel drops of fresh moisture. Yes, it softened the edges of the buildings and the stark roughness of the tree branches outside the window. A lovely and apt descrioption of this sort of day.
I can’t say it has bothered the chickens as you may note from the prescence of the rooster in this picture.
soft day 002a

Soft, in more ways than one. Yesterday I had some dental surgery, and part of allowing things to heal means ‘soft’ food, at least for today. I did the hot cereal, yougurt and soup routine… somehow far from satisfying or filling.
Finally, I decided to make some macaroni and cheese, well laced with chunky hot salsa and ham salad.
Both were awarded Hubby’s ‘2 platefull seal of approval’, and I feel much better for consuming it.
While I did not use the traditional passed down family recipe for homemade macaroni and cheese like I might have on another day, it turned out well.
The mac and cheese was a ‘cheater’ mode, made from a box out of the pantry, ( I do try to keep things like that on hand) just adding a third cup of salsa and mixing it well.
Ham salad was from the last of the Christmas ham, thawed, chopped in the blender with some onion, pickles and salad dressing.
Nothing fancy, but a lot more filling than another cup of soup.

