March is Women’s History Month.
I think that is a very important thing.
As I look back over women in my own family and extended family, I can think of many who should be honored. Oh, they might not have done anything ‘newsworthy’ during their lives, but they made a difference.
A long ago ancestress, one of the members of the Plimouth settlers. Looking for freedom to practice her Puritan religious beliefs?
Those women who gave up eastern homes and left to blaze trails west. Long wagon trips to find new homes and so much hard work to build them.
The Irish ancesstress, in steerage with her children to bring them to a new world, was she filled with hope for the future?
The great-great and great grandmother who fought for our right to vote, because they believed women should have a say in things. The grandmother who took a ‘man’s job’ (making radios) during World War II. In a day when global communcation took hours, if not days. She once told me about waiting at night outside the telegraph office, waiting for casualty lists to be posted after a battle. Always the fear, or pride, that her work would bring the news that would be relayed through the wires.
Shaking the famioly tree and thinking with pride of these ladies, I wonder what sort of history I might leave for those to come.

