I like to sew, and someday would like to own my ‘dream machine’. No, it is not top of the line in technology! It is one like I learned to sew on back in the 1950’s.
An old Singer treadle machine.
Spring has arrived and it is the beginning of auction season. We were at one today, there was an older model treadle machine in the sale.
I looked it over and drooled a bit. Even though some parts were missing the machine itself was in working order, and I am sure the bobbin, bobbin case and other parts could be obtained somewhere.
These are in demand I know and I also wondered what had happened to two others that had been converted to tables on top of the metal treadle frame.
I stepped back to watch after the price went beyond my budget, this machine sold for over $400! It was not meant for me this time. Maybe someday, who knows?
Ayoung Amish man, accompanied by four small boys bought it. That makes sense, since they do not use electricity.
I hope his wife gets it fixed and gets many more years of use from it.
montauk auction 001

