It has been a busy morning here on Sunrise Ridge.
Hubby rolled the teenagers out early (for them) on a fine Saturday morning and directed them to the cold cereal before heading to the garden and then to working on mechanical aspects of the riding mower.
Few breaks were to be had, things of an outdoor nature must be done today before a series of rain waves arrive later on.
About 11, I asked if they felt like sausage, eggs and biscuits might be appropriate to keep them going. Not surprisingly, the answer was yes, so I went to work.
As I mixed the biscuit dough, I remembered my maternal grandfather. He would get up about4, have a bowl of Cheerios or Wheaties and then head out to milk his dairy herd and take are of other morning chores.
Around 6:30 or 7, while the milk was cooling to be separated and bottled, he would come back to the kitchen, where Grandmother would be standing over the stove preparing ‘second breakfast’.
This was the big morning meal, eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits, gravy and often some canned fruit or jelly. Always plenty of fresh whole milk and home churned butter.
My brother and I always thought we were greatly privileged when Grandfather would call us for that bowl of cereal and let us have a chance to help with the chores.
‘Second breakfast’ was the reward for rising early.

