100_0594

Recently, I attended a Heritage Event at Alley Spring in the Ozark National Scenic Riverways.

One of the exhibit demonstrations was Wagon Wheel Rug Weaving, which greatly intrigued me.

The lady weaving gave some information about how it was done, and I thought since I have lots of fabric scraps from quilt making that I should really try this.

When I got home, I looked on the internet and found some further instructions.

The first and foremost item of importance is a hoop big enough for the project. I did not have one so made a prototype on an embroidery hoop. (We are not going to discuss that here, other than to say it gave me a lot of feed back on what NOT to do).

A couple of days later, a friend came over to learn how to do this and gifted me an old hula hoop. Much better! I gave her a copy of my instructions, a sort of lesson and she has her rug completed as well.

The following pictures give an idea of this weaving technique. Adding the wheel ‘spokes’ as you go is rather challenging . Probably comparable to basket weaving. I might try that one of these days…

It took two old sheets, an assortment of scraps, about 12 hours of actual ‘work’ to complete a 34 inch rug..

Hubby remarked “It looks like a rug.” Very astute, or as a friend says, depend on a man to tell you the truth.

Not perfect, but I now know a lot more about the ‘how to’ and am looking forward to beginning another one before long.

Winter is coming and crafting is a good way to while away cold weather. And while I do it, I will have this little rug to rest my feet on!

100_0053

October 18, ready to add more ‘spokes’

100_0081

October 22, progress!

113_0109

October 28 Finished project. Still needs some trimming

